Shared library implementation?

I’m just learning Rust and think that sharing reusable code would be a boon for cache performance. Libraries can be thought of as applications with multiple entry points so if applications could be made reentrant, the job would be half done!

The AROS-style library is implemented with an atomic reference counted access to the handle of the library base structure. The library base would be implemented with a mutex protected heap that has a vtable of closures containing calls to the actual code implementation wrapped in the structure to simulate a jump table.

I’ll continue this discussion later.

The implementation of the vtable could be just a nested structure at the end of the heap with a constant reference at the beginning. There are 2 ways to implement the heap/base of the library:
per-opener or static.

Per-opener makes a new heap allocation every time the library is opened. This is how Posix OS’s generally do it as do Mac and Windows.

Static is faster and more Rust-like. It’s how Amiga and similar OS designs like MorphOS and AROS do most of their shared libraries. Static library implementations still allow box allocations so it’s generally the best of both worlds. I would suggest supporting both kinds of library.

There is one final matter for a dlopen/Posix style library compatibility: querying which functions are available and how many parameters they each take.

Since the AmigaOS offshoots had a revision number constant publicly available to insure that their OpenLibrary command had a new enough version to implement all the jump table entries, there was no need for DLL Hell.