Directory Structure

I have accepted my fate as being an annoyance on forms for my… less than intelligent questions.
That being said, the Linux file system hierarchy is rather weird in my, albeit naive, opinion. I posted here last year about package management and i mentioned a project I came across called GoboLinux. Upon reading more and more into the distro, their take on the file-system seemed awesome and very user friendly for an idiot like myself. I was wondering if the directory structure in GoboLinux would be possible to implement in Redox. With this project still being in the state that big changes can still be made (correct me if I am wrong), it would be interesting topic to discuss.

I check the Redox GitHub page and forms everyday because of how excited I am for this project. I am currently a CS student and hope one day to be able to contribute something for Redox one day. Respect for all the developers/maintainers and looking forward to seeing where this goes.

PS. I apologize if this is a less than intelligent post.

1 Like

Did you already read this? https://doc.redox-os.org/book/design/design.html

In particular the entire 5.2 section “URLs, Schemes, and Resources” is important to get a grasp of Redox’ concept of “everything is a URL”. I’ve by no means fully grasped it, but Jeremy’s musings in https://changelog.com/podcast/280 helped me get the gist of it.

So I suggest you start with these resources, and from there you can try inquire further about more specific Redox concepts that may benefit from the GoboLinux model.

1 Like