Design decisions

Hi,
First of all I’m not an expert, I’m just passionate about this project and I can’t manage to find enough informations for my taste, I like to understand the direction of projects,

so I have a question about the design decisions when making this OS, I saw they liked to question standards if it’s worth it and I love this, not limiting innovation and picking every OS advancements made so far.
But when they have to make a decision, do they pick security first everytime or what ? There is compromises to make everytime but I would like to know what’s the priority for them ? Would they not implement some security feature because it’s too hard ? too costly in performance ? too far from the standards ?
In my noob opinion, to stand out you have to go all in on security and stability, but I’m not an ingineer.

Thanks !

As an example, I heard about multi kernels, nano/pico kernels, I guess if they havent been choosed they pose too much problem with either complexity/compatibility or don’t offer a large enough advantage ?

1 Like
  1. Kernel is something I like and I’ve been studying for a while. Here in this link talks about the advantages and disadvantages of each type of Kernel: reference - Hybrid Kernel and Nano Kernel or Pico Kernel | MyCareerwise
  2. I think it’s a great idea to have a monolithic kernel like Linux. However, as I’m looking to learn about other types of kernel I met the Redox-os project with the objective of a kernel of the type: microkernel
  3. There is even a technical discussion by Linus Torvalds vs Andrew Tanenbaum about using a monolithic kernel or not. - Some say that the microkernel type kernel “is more secure and reliable”. But “microkernel type kernel is very complex to make, maintain”. If you want to take a look here is the full or partial text of this debate - reference: Appendix A - The Tanenbaum-Torvalds Debate or cs.vu.nl/~ast/reliable-os/