Welcome Thread ... say hello!

Maybe a place for everyone who wanna say hello and to keep things clean.

So maybe i start first:

Hi, i am Dustin and following this project for quite some time. The pace Redox is evolving is somewhat “intimidating”. I always wanted to somehow participate but the lack of time (maybe a few hours every 2-3 weeks) and the lack of professional OS programming knowledge is saving you guys from me :wink:

Every time i tried to look at the code etc. so much changed i can’t nearly hold that immense pace! Every now and then i compiled and run redox, it is amazing how much better it gets.

I’m a software developer from Berlin, Germany, writing server backends, desktop stuff (Qt) and lately Android apps. In my spare time i challenge myself with OpenGL and some kind of my own game-engine. I have not so much time to get my hands dirty with rust but i love everything i’ve seen so far. Would love to port my stuff to rust. Maybe Redox could be an opportunity for me to write some Redox Userland code.

I love to see where this project is heading, maybe i find a place to participate in the future :slight_smile:

10 Likes

Hi There!

I’m Dzmitry, a graphics programmer from Toronto. No real OS programming knowledge, just a bit of ARM drivers here and there, but would like to get my hands on your architecture and see if I can apply my skills to improve it. Very excited to see Redox development, agreeing with @pythoneer on the intimidation factor :slight_smile: .

3 Likes

Hello there!

I’m Adam, a Senior Middleware Consultant at Red Hat, Inc. I mostly do Java development with various middleware components like JBoss Wildfly/EAP, Business Process and Rules software, etc…

In my spare time I use Rust for a number of small projects and hope to contribute to Redox more.

Disclaimer: Though I work for Red Hat, my involvement in Redox is purely for personal interest. My views and actions should not be construed as those of Red Hat, Inc, etc, etc…

2 Likes