Redox should use the Unlicense, WTFPL or CCO (most preferable) license

COO license is even more premissive license than MIT which results in making the software even more free and open source.

Correct me if I am wrong, but the use of the MIT license is VERY permissive. One thing that is within the license is that Redox or the maintainers cannot be held liable for any reason from use of their code. So it grants freedom but with extra protections. Whereas the WTFPL does not include such a clause.

1 Like

I don’t think WTFPL is suitable because it doesn’t mention anything about the warranty. But unlicense could probably work… but to what benefit? It looks pretty similar.

1 Like

How about Unlicense then?

Oh ok yeah we should use Unlicense, as there are no restrictions at all as to what users can and can’t do, therefore making this project 100% completely Free (as in freedom) and Open Source.

I think this is not correct. I am not a lawyer but it is generally no good idea in some jurisdictions to have a piece of work without it. I am aware of one concrete example in German law where you have a hard time to perform/play music in public. In German law you need to pay a license fee to an organization known as “GEMA” in case you want to play music of a band that is under the protection of the GEMA. If you want to play music that is not under this protection (its either your own music or from a band not under the GEMA protection) you need to have a proof! It is generally assumed – by law – that every music is licensed under the GEMA protection and not having a proper “free music” license could get you in “trouble” (meaning you have to pay either way if you can’t proof its “GEMA free”). So i can imagine there could be jurisdictions in other countries that would make it problematic in a similar way to software to have no license. And if not, it may be in the future. So having a license protects its freedom.